Chapter One

My posting is really bad. The worst thing is that sometimes I don’t write blog posts because I don’t have anything to write about. Not true now. I went to the Women’s March on Washington. (Nope, no blog post about it, sorry. It was pretty amazing though.)

Took my daughter to see Something Rotten down in Cincinnati. (Cincinnati is down from Columbus… down and left. Or down and right. These are terrible directions.) No blog post. Funny as hell show.

My son’s getting married in less than two weeks. Like omg. I will be posting about that. But it hasn’t happened yet.

Here’s the reason I’m not posting– I’m actually writing a novel. (Not since June, the date of my last blog post, this is only an excuse for January and February. I wasn’t doing anything the last six months of 2016. Nothing! I was probably doing something, but I can’t remember it.)

I’m playing around with the idea of posting the first chapter of Untold Gold on Medium (and here too of course) now that I am finally heading downhill into the third act and feel like I have a handle on things. I like it. I love it actually. But I don’t know how it’s going to play in Peoria. (This is a very old saying, one that people probably will look up someday. It has a wikipedia post that the wikipedia editors are not very satisfied with, but it’s just a saying and they are awfully uptight for still not being OK to use in research papers.)

Here’s the opening lines of Untold Gold.

The way Shaun Hailey saw it, capitalism had directly led to his ancestors being kidnapped in Africa, shipped like cargo across an ocean, and placed on auction blocks for sale in another world. Two centuries later, capitalism led an old white couple to leave South Africa, move across an ocean of their own free will, and open a coffee shop next to the Southport station on the CTA Brown Line.

Later Shaun thought that the same economic system working on people from the same two continents couldn’t possibly have had more divergent effects on his future.

Any thoughts? I’m all ears.

Posted on February 28, 2017, in Blogroll. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “shop next the” should be “shop next to the”

    DO NOT trust / count on spell checkers to catch these.

Leave a Reply

